Outta Me, Onto You

  • 09:26:41 am on February 3, 2007 | 0

    Update as of 12:53 PM: It’s ALL working!!! YAY!!!

    From Earlier Today:

    I have recently decided to start up a blog/website with some other journalists that will launch sometime this spring. And I thought that with multiple authors/editors uploading all kinds of files from photos to audio and possibly video, (and the option of scheduling the publication of posts), it would be good to try out the downloadable WordPress 2.0 from WordPress.org. I thought it’d be the big sister to the .com version – more themes, more options for customization (if you know CSS which I don’t), etc.

    So, I signed up with Dreamhost which not only offers one-click installation of WordPress, but has a 97–day money-back guarantee, and a friend highly complimented their customer support. So I figured I had nothing to lose.

    Except, apparently, hours and hours of trying to figure out why certain things weren’t working and a night’s sleep.

    This isn’t a criticism at all of WordPress or Dreamhost – the former I haven’t contacted yet for support and the latter has yet to get back to me, but they’re still well within the allotted wait time I was told to expect.

    This is a post where I get to wonder if upgrading moving to WordPress 2.0 was a good idea or if I’m just way ahead of myself. (I wanted to say “upgrading” even though I know technically it’s not an “upgrade”, but in terms of increasing the amount of responsibility and independence, to me it’s a personal upgrade to go to WordPress 2.0 from the .com WordPress.)

    Maybe I was wrong to think there was a basic way of using WordPress 2.0 and that only if I wanted to do some fancy stuff would CSS and other technical knowledge be necessary. I’m not a total idiot when it comes to computers — I have just never studied scripts and codes, etc., so I can’t just figure these things out playing around on my own — not without buying books and studying for several months.

    But with this site we’re launching and how much I’ve enjoyed using WordPress.com so far, I thought I was up for the challenge. But now I just feel like I don’t know where to begin.

    What’s the problem?

    Well, when you sign up with Dreamhost and install WP on their server, they send you an email saying (and what a joy-inducing subject line, I must say!):

    subject: Success installing WordPress on your site!
    body: 1. Please create an admin user at:

    http://www.yourdomain.com/wp-admin/install.php

    2. Afterwards, if you’re switching from a different weblog system,
    go to the import area of WordPress admin:

    http://www.yourdomain.com/wp-admin/import.php

    (obviously with your domain where it says yourdomain – i’m more computer-literate than that. not much more, but still..)

    Well, those links they sent me gave me a 404 error message. Well, for those even less tech-savvy than I, according to wikipedia:

    The 404 or Not Found error message is an HTTP standard response code indicating that the client was able to communicate with the server, but the server either could not find what was requested, or it was configured not to fulfill the request and not reveal the reason why. 404 errors should not be confused with “server not found” or similar errors, in which a connection to the destination server cannot be made at all.

    Which, I’m hoping, means this is something Dreamhost will be able to understand and fix in no time. It’s probably related to the fact that we had registered the domain with a different company (bad idea! more b/c I think we got scammed – we paid for a private domain registration when many places, like Dreamhost, offer that for free. Luckily in 60 days we can transfer ownership of the domain to Dreamhost, assuming we’re not back to square 1 using wordpress.com)

    If you’re someone who’s had similar problems or are familiar with this one, please feel free to comment. I’d also like to know what people think of who WordPress 2.0 is for (just the code-savvy or regular writers/journos like me) – and how you’d compare WordPress 2.0 and .com — I’ve seen a lot of comparisons of WordPress and TypePad, but not so much of WordPress 2.0 and WordPress.com — maybe that’s because they can’t be really?

    Also – the book that’s available for WordPress – I assume obviously that it’s for people with some knowledge of code and such, but would it be a total waste of my time and money to get it?

    I Do Look Before I Leap…

    In case you’re wondering, I did read up on WordPress 2.0 at WordPress.org and at their wiki, as well as online at various blogs such as http://www.emilyrobbins.com. All of which seemed to indicate this whole process would be quick and painless, if a bit challenging and requiring some patience and desire to see this happen. I mean, the most complaints seem to come from people with pre-existing blogs that were using the previous version who were concerned that some tags or trackbacks did not convert properly. I thought starting up something new would be less of a hassle. Ah well..

    Update:

    It is 10:43 AM EST and Dreamhost just replied (I believe I had emailed them around midnight, so quick reply!) saying that the one-click install didn’t work. They offered to delete it, so I could re-install or they’d do it all for me. Yay! Such a simple solution for something I wrote my longest post about so far 🙂 But that’s blogging…

    Now playing: Imogen HeapHide and Seek

     

Leave a Reply

