Outta Me, Onto You

  • 04:32:17 pm on April 7, 2007 | 0

    Bloglily has a 100 Poem Project, which I think is such a great idea. I look forward to seeing what she posts and, inspired, I decided to post some of my own favorites (this reminds me of Wells College, where I met a lot of these poems for the first time).

    Of course, some of my most favorite poems are those considered “slam” poetry – or from vaguely within that movement — poetry that is best HEARD. I’ll list them under “Check This Out” in the sidebar, rather than in this post.

    Tu Risa/Your Laughter by Pablo Neruda (this was read at my wedding in spanish)

    Cet Amour by Jacque Prevert (also read at my wedding, in french. yes, the wedding was tri-lingual). Here is its english translation.

    This Is Just To Say by William Carlos Williams

    and the poem it inspired: Variations on a Theme by William Carlos Williams by Kenneth Koch

    Those Winter Sundays by Robert Hayden

    The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock by T.S. Eliot

    Spilled by Bruce Bennett (my professor at Wells, where I was a student for one year)

    Implications of One Plus One by Marge Piercy

    Do No Go Gentle by Dylan Thomas

    Mother to Son by Langston Hughes

    I have more, but I’ll have to search for them later.

     

Leave a Reply

